Climate in Alberta

Alberta has a dry continental climate, with four distinct seasons including hot summers and very cold, snowy winters. Summer runs between June and August, when days are warm and evenings are cool.

Winters, between December and February, are cold with heavy snowfalls, particularly in the Rockies. The province is large and extends over multiple terrains, making the climate highly variable from area to area.